Showing posts with label life. Show all posts
Showing posts with label life. Show all posts

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Family, near death experience, campfires, and bears!




View of the Blue Ridge mountains from one of the overlooks. Taken with my iPhone 6 in panoramic mode.

This time last week we were packing up the truck and headed to Virginia for a family reunion. We were all camping at Big Meadows campground, and it was a blast!
Ive never been to Shenandoah National Park, but its on my bucket list to visit every National Park! So I was pretty excited. Camping is one of my favorite things to do and Shenandoah is a beautiful place! So heres a full run down of my weekend:

Thursday morning we left for a 5 hour drive down to Virginia. It was long and boring, but the closer we got, the more beautiful the view! My excitement grew by the minute. We brought the doggos with us, so we made a few pit stops to allow for bathroom breaks and snacks/drinks. My dogs arent the best behaved in the car, so we took them for a walk in the 90-something degree weather to tucker them out, hoping theyd sleep through most of the ride there. (They did!) We finally reached Skyline Drive and I was so anxious I could barely sit still. My motion sickness meds were wearing off and the road was hilly and curvy. Plus the beauty all around was unbelievable. I could not wait to get out of the car! We stopped at a few overlooks before making our way to the campground. Setting up after a long drive is always a stressful time, so among all of the commotion I had a little break down/anxiety attack and wished I had just stayed home by myself. By the end of the weekend I was so glad I didnt! So Thursday evening was basically just us setting up, eating campfire food, and relaxing. Nothing relaxes you quite like hanging around the campfire on a cool summers evening. My happy place.
The dogs all packed up and ready to hit the road to Shenandoah!

Friday was the main day for all of the reunion festivities. We were planning on having food and laughter all day. We did not disappoint. In the morning my family had our usually camp breakfast of eggs and potatoes that always seem to taste better when youre camping.. Then we went out for a little ride around the park to see some sights and get some photos. I was so breath-taken by how unbelievably beautiful the views were up there on that mountain. I mean, I knew it would be beautiful..but it was so beyond anything Id imagined. Im the kind of person who really seeks the beauty in the world, and I dont take things like this for granted. This world always surprises me.. I have such a love and appreciation for mother nature. I could have sat there and stared into her creation for hours. But, it was time to head back to the campground and get the food started. So me and my mom heated up our 300-ish meatballs we had prepared and froze before we left and took them down to the reunion site. Everyone else (mostly) was already down there and hanging out. My mom has 8 brothers and sister, all but 2 were able to show. I have family all around the world, so its s soo great (and rare) to have them all in one place at one time. My uncle from Italy, aunt from Oregon, and uncle from California had all made it. As well as most of the local crew and Marylanders. We were just missing Uncle Larry from Singapore! A few of my moms aunts uncles and cousins made their way out too, which was super cool! I hung around for a bit, had something to eat and chatted with some family before my anxiety couldnt handle anymore and I had to head back up to our site to see what the pups were up to. (In the park you cant leave your food out due to bears, so either me or my dad was always at our site with the dogs, who arent great in large groups, and the coolers. So now it was my turn to babysit) Me and my cousin had a cute t-shirt craft planned for the kids..and any adults who were interested. So later in the evening everyone fled up the hill to our campsite to participate in the cute hand print campfire craft I had prepared. They all turned out so cute, and I couldnt have been happier! My sister and her boyfriend couldnt come until after work on Friday, so they didnt make it until around 9:45 that night, but we hung out and had a great time regardless. There were so many stars, I spent quite some time just laying their looking up. I even got to try out Astrophotography for the first time! I loved it and cant wait to do some more!
Left: "Stanton Clan" campfire hand print t shirt craft I did with the kids! Photo taken with my moms Samsung Galaxy S6 Active.
Right: Photo of the stars that night. Taken with my Canon T1i.
Saturday we kind of planned on everyone doing their own thing, hikes, sightseeing, etc. So we thought me, my sister, and her boyfriend would go off on a falls trail while my parents stayed back with the dogs, then wed switch. The hike we chose said it was moderate, ending at an 81 foot waterfall. I was so excited, because waterfalls are one of my favorite things to photograph! And one of my favorite sights ever! The hike down wasnt too bad, I actually really enjoy getting out into nature and hiking. It helps me relax, clears my head, and reminds me of where I belong. We finally could hear the water, and knew it was close! We finally reached the falls and were..so disappointed. I guess we were at the top of the fall? It must have been a little dry to, because there wasnt much water flowing. And we all felt defeated knowing wed have to hike back up the mountain and all for a waterfall the was totally not worth it. :( Still, I wanted to sit there and relax a bit. I still wanted to try and get some photos and we had to try out my dads new life straw. So I got out there and found some decent views to photograph, my sisters boyfriend got his adrenaline rush by holding himself out over the edge like an idiot, and my sister sat there grumpily because she doesnt like nature as much as she thought..hiking isnt her thing..and shes terrified of heights. (on top of a mountain is not the best place to be when youre afraid of heights, is it?) So we hung out there for a half an hour or so then packed up and headed back up the mountain. We did not expect what came next. The hike back up was so much worse than we had anticipated. The elevation made it more difficult to breathe, it seemed much more steep on the way up, it was hot, and the added weight of my camera bag did not help at all. We had planned on taking our time on the way back, but even then it took us much longer than we thought it would. I had to take a LOT of breaks. Drank a lot of water (I didnt bring nearly enough though :/) And I still felt exhausted and over exerted. Finally, after an hour and a half, we could see the car! We were almost there..until.. I felt an uncontrollable need to puke. I had held it back a few times on the way up, but this time I just couldnt.. So I sat down on a rock 50 feet from the parking lot and let it go. My sister and her boyfriend had made it all the way up, so they brought me back some water and a cold pack to put on my neck. Once I let my body rest, and..release..I could finally walk the last few feet to the car and we were on our way back to the site. Where I layed in the hammock and didnt plan to move for the rest of the day! By the end of it I hated that hike..but I am still proud of myself for completing it. And I still enjoyed being out in nature, so it wasnt all bad after all. That evening everyone gathered around again for some more laughs and good times. My mom hung out with her family while the rest of us stayed back at our site, cooked a delicious dutch oven dinner, and had a good time of our own. I wasnt leaving that hammock for much..but that food was worth it. ;)
Results of a strenuous hike. burned a crazy amount of calories and had a ridiculous number of active minutes. Worth it!

Sunday was time to leave, so we didnt really do anything but pack up and hit the road. I was a little disappointed that we were the only ones all weekend who hadnt seen a bear..that was until the road out! I saw my first ever bear in the wild. It looked young. I didnt get any pictures of it since it ran back into the woods as soon as it saw us/heard the dogs bark. but I saw it, so that was enough for me! My trip was complete! That weekend the ducks turned 18 weeks old, so we were hoping to see our first eggs when we got home! Unfortunately, there were none. But they had been cooped up for 4 days, so I let them out and by the night I had completely forgotten to put them back in..but I was surprised to see OUR FIRST EGG the next morning when I woke up. She must have been saving it for me to come home ;) She layed it right outside her pool. I was so proud of my big girl! All grown up and laying eggs like a pro. Her first few were tiny little things. But they have strong shells and and growing in size every day. She'll be a great layer, and I cant wait to try my first duck egg!
Savannahs first egg, laid July 25.
I think my favorite thing about Shenandoah was how beautiful the nature all around was. There were deer walking right through the campground, through people sites. There were honey bees pollinating the wildflowers. An unpolluted night sky with endless amounts of stars. And breathtakingly beautiful views everywhere you turn. I cant wait for my next trip there.
Here are a few more of my favorite photos from the weekend:
 One of the few photos I got from our hike to the Waterfall. Taken with my Canon T1i.
 A baby deer that was grazing by our campsite with its mother. Taken with my Canon T1i.
 Breathtaking view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Taken with my Canon T1i.
 View from an overlook on our way out. Taken with my iPhone 6.
 Honeybee pollinating some wildflowers on our campsite.
 Darla keeping guard, taking in all of her surroundings. My beautiful girl. Taken with my Canon T1i.
 Dutch oven dinner staying warm over the fire. Taken with my Canon T1i.
Two baby deer grazing on the site across from ours. Taken with my Canon T1i.

Have you been to Shenandoah? What was your favorite thing about it? Id love to hear about your experiences there. Im so excited for my next camping trip and cant wait to get back out into nature! Have a beautiful week wherever your are in the world. And remember to stop and take in the beauty that is all around us in nature.
Stay Humble & Kind. <3

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Top 3 week. Day 1: Makeup Removing Wipes

Hello beautiful,

This week I decided to give you a run down of my top 3's. I have 5 different categories Im going to cover, from skin care products to hair and makeup. Ill tell you why I love these products and give a sort of mini review. If you want a full in depth review on anything please let me know! Remember, these are my own unbiased opinions based on my personal preference and experience. As always feel free to let me know your top 3 down in the comments! And please follow this blog to stay on top of all of my posts! Todays top 3 is my 


Top 3 Makeup Removing Wipes

Ive actually taken a break from doing my makeup daily to kind of improve my skin and let it breathe, so this isnt something I use every single day. But when I do wear makeup, by the end of the day it feels so good to take it all off and relax. Ive always found that if I dont remove my makeup before washing my face, just washing alone doesnt get my skin as clean as Id like. Theres always something left behind. So I like to use a wipe (creams and oils dont work well for me, so my go-to is always going to be the wipes!) to remove my makeup before continuing with washing with a cleanser.

3. My third choice in wipes is the Dickinson's Witch Hazel Cleansing Cloths. These are relatively new, Ive only been using them for a few months. Theyre technically not "makeup removing wipes," but a lot of the time they are just called cleansing cloths anyway..on the package it does say it removes makeup. I love these wipes because they are super soft and gentle on my skin. They do smell a bit strong, but thats witch hazel for you. They come in at number 3 because they dont remove makeup as well as the others. But they are in my top because they are really nice on my skin! They are affordable but might be a little more difficult to find for some of you, but I do know they are available at Walgreens nationwide!

2. My pick for number two is the Simple Cleansing Facial Wipe. These wipes are really nice and it was realllly hard for me to decide between 1 and 2..so I ended up choosing these ones as my second.  These are also gentle on my skin, theyre made with no harsh chemicals, perfumes, or dyes. Which is really important to me! No one needs that stuff on their skin. Simple is a brand that focuses on using skin loving ingredients that are kind to your skin and great for those with sensitive skin! These remove makeup better than the Dickinson's and on par with my number 1. Their products are affordable and available everywhere! Pretty much every grocery store, drug store, or Walmart/Target. They have some really great products that are great on your skin, so I definitely suggest checking them out!

1. And finally.. My number one favorite wipe is Pacifica Natural Skincare Essential Makeup Removing Wipe. These wipes are realllly great, theyre made with jasmine and coconut water, theyre gentle on the skin and are 100% vegan and cruelty free! They are made without the nasty stuff like sulfates, sls, parabens, etc. They smell fantastic and remove my makeup very well. Pacifica is another brand that focuses on using all of the good stuff and none of the bad. They also support Clean Water, which is so important to me!! It also doesnt hurt that they have some of the cutest packaging I have ever seen! These made my number one spot because: they are natural, vegan, cruelty free. Portion of proceeds go to support clean water. The products work really well on my skin, and the packaging sets them apart from the rest. These wipes are also pretty affordable, although maybe a dollar or so more than the other brands, I think. And theyre not as easy to find as the Simple brand, but they are available at Target and Ulta and can be purchased online too! They also have lots of other skin care and beauty products you should all check out! 

I hope you all are enjoying this little Top 3 series and be sure to leave me suggestions of other Top 3's you want me to do in the future!

XOXO
Always stay humble & kind.

Friday, January 22, 2016

Snowed In!

This weekend, here in southeast Pennsylvania, we are in the midst of a blizzard! We are right on the line between 12-18" and 18-24", and I am so ready for whatever is to come! We never really got any good snow last winter, so we are definitely due. ;)
So, since well be stuck in the house for a few days.. (state of emergency! :o ) Ive gotten myself fully prepared! Ive got a nice big stack of wood, just outside the back door, to keep the fire going so we will stay cozy and warm! And ive got myself a few projects lined up to keep myself occupied!
I think Ive mentioned on here before that I am working on making myself a blanket for my bed. Ive been working on it for a few months, but had to put it on the back burner to work on some christmas presents, so Im not as far along as I really should be.. :/ but Im totally fine with that because Ive got plenty to work on this weekend now! :)
I also headed over to our local Aldi and picked up this adorable little animal crochet kit I saw in this weeks ad. I just had to have it! The kit was only $10 and it comes with a little book that shows you how to make 12 different animals, and all of the supplies to make 2 of them. :) mine makes a bunny and an adorable little koala that I am so excited to make! (It also has instructions for an alpaca and a sheep, which are soo stinking cute I cant even contain myself)
We are fully stocked up on dough, crescent rolls and cheese, to make a delicious pizza twists and wreaths. And a brand new deck of cards against humanity, which with my family will be a dangerous night! I wouldnt be surprised if we all die of laughter. Oh, and Ive got a few episodes of Younger to catch up on..not to mention an huge list of Netflix shows..and GOT..that I also need to catch up on..so Ive got plenty to watch too!
You know..snow is one of those things that so many people hate and want nothing to do with. But I actually really love it. Its so magical and beautiful. Just the way it makes me feel as I watch it fall and glisten..it just warms me up from the inside. I think more people need to stop and just take in the beauty that is all around us. 
Ive been seeing a lot of hate and bitterness around lately, and Ive really been trying so hard to spread love and kindness. To help those people see that life isnt fun with hatred in your heart. Sometimes you need to just let it go and let it be filled with love and light. Yesterday I saw Tim McGraws new video for his song Humble And Kind, and Ive been singing it constantly. Those are truly the greatest words to live by.
So heres to love, happiness, winter storms, hot cocoa, and crocheted alpacas! Enjoy your weekend no matter where you are. Be safe. Be happy. And always stay humble and kind. <3